cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Horsemanship Stopped Loading as Workout

HPHaven
Mt. Kenya

I have been tracking my equestrian activities for several years on Garmin and started to load them as Workouts to Strava about a year ago.   A few days ago, they stopped loading into Strava even though all my other activities (run, walk, bike) still load automatically.   

I was able to load the file manually from my Garmin watch to Strava but I don't want that hassle!   Has anyone else experienced this?   Did a recent update block horsemanship activities from loading from Garmin to Strava???

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi all , Hi Jane, 
I got this reply from Strava Help Center to my ticket in this topic;

"Jimi (Help Center)

May 16, 2023, 6:45 AM MDT

Hi Joao,

Thanks for writing in and sorry for the activity syncing troubles. Garmin recently updated which activity types are synced to Strava.

The Garmin Connect developer API program has been aligned to its original health and wellness intent to focus on health, wellness and primary sports (run, walk, bike, etc.) The change to non-primary sports activities such as flying, motorsports, horseback riding, RC drone, etc. means that you will need to export those activities from your device and manually upload them to Strava.

The best option at this time is to export the original from Garmin Connect and upload it to Strava from our upload page. Let me know if you have any questions.

Best,
Jimi
Strava Support Team"

As per my reply to the Strava Support Team, the best option for me it to create an activity which I name "Horse riding", it will have sport = "Generic" in the fit file and synchronizes perfectly with Strava (I tested this already) having all the infos of the activity.

View solution in original post

Jane
Moderator Moderator

Hi All,

We have heard back from Garmin and as @marsupi96 posted above, this was due to a change in the Garmin API (application programming interface).