cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nnnudibranch
Shkhara

I primarily bought my watch for surf tracking after seeing a buddy's. However, he has an apple watch with a pretty decent surf tracking app. I am not an Apple products guy so I got the Samsung Watch to use with Strava. There is a separate app, Waves Tracker which uses Strava api to attempt to decipher my wave count but it's not very good (yet, sorry guys...) although it is a valiant effort so far and i'm sure it will improve. Garmin and Ripcurl sell dedicated surf watches but they are mediocre at tracking smaller waves. It's pretty obvious the moments a wave is caught, the speed spikes to 12, 15 20 mph and can be seen on the graph. I can count the peaks but its not very good. 

The watch app needs to sync better too, but have a selectable "surf" activity. As well as climb, and some other ones. I always record in "Hike" and manually edit later... 
Then I upload to waves tracker...
Assuming I got the watch app to sync...
A lot of work to try to get any kind of "data" on my "performance" it feels like Im doing it for the 'gram than performance tracking, and between all that and cramming a watch in my wetsuit I opt out half the time. 

In summarium: 
- Surf mode should display wave count, length, speed. An adjustable setting for speed or sensitivity would be great for those smaller days that many of the apps don't work well on. 
- Surf mode needs to be on the watch as a selectable activity (Wear OS)

14 Comments
nnnudibranch
Shkhara

Screenshot 2023-01-12 203248.pngScreenshot 2023-01-12 203354.pngScreenshot_20230112_203454_Chrome.jpg

Status changed to: Gathering Kudos
Soren
Denali

Thanks for submitting your idea on ways to improve the Surf Sport Type. It has been reviewed by our moderation team and is now open to voting.

Tommo98765
Mt. Kenya

Thanks for posting this! as I'm having the same problem! I saw a crazy mess of positioning and speed, which is pretty much useless!