cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Apple Watch Automatically Uploading to Strava after pressing save

bichonofdeath
Mt. Kenya

I know this doesn't sound like much of an issue. But when I finish my run on the Strava app on my Apple Watch Series 8, I have the option to 'save' or 'discard'. If I press 'save', it goes straight and puts it up on my Strava feed. It doesn't allow me to change the name, visibility, tags, etc. I have to then go onto my phone app and edit it, which is a real pain. 

Does anyone else have this issue, or any solutions? I am fine with it uploading to Strava, but I don't want it going directly to my feed so that people can see my 1km warmup... 

Many thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

anchskier
Denali

That is what happens with pretty much all devices.  What you can do is set your default privacy settings in Strava so all activities start out as private (viewable to only you).  That way, it will automatically upload to Strava when you hit save, but it will not show up in your feed for others to see until you go in and change the specific activity to public which you can easily do at the same time you edit the title and any other things.  

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

anchskier
Denali

@bichonofdeath - Yes, my understanding is that if you select "discard", it will delete the data.  If you are just looking to keep track of your data, you will probably be best off with what I mentioned above, setting the default privacy setting to private (only you).  You can then choose if you want to make it public or just leave it as is.  Either way, it will keep track of your data for you.

bichonofdeath
Mt. Kenya

Thanks. That is a good idea and I will try it. I use Strava on my watch primarily for the data. If you discard the Strava workout instead of save (by extension upload), will it also delete all of the data recorded for that workout?  

Thanks again

anchskier
Denali

That is what happens with pretty much all devices.  What you can do is set your default privacy settings in Strava so all activities start out as private (viewable to only you).  That way, it will automatically upload to Strava when you hit save, but it will not show up in your feed for others to see until you go in and change the specific activity to public which you can easily do at the same time you edit the title and any other things.