cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GPS tracking jumping all over the place - several ppl affected that I know of. Wrong kms reported.

revstrava
Mt. Kenya

Hi, myself, and several other riders in Australia have noticed that over the last few weeks the GPS driven path bounces all over the place in parts of the ride, incorrectly increasing distance, and adding jagged or starred path artifacts to the path. In places it will jump several tens or hundreds of metres, adding significantly to the distance (and increasing the average speed).

I have been using Strava for over 5 years, frequently with daily rides of > 10km. I have never had this issue.

My friend, from a city approx 100km away is also having the same issue. He came up and we rode together on the weekend.  We rode together ~ 50km.  Before the ride I had checked his phone, made sure network time was on, high precision mode was in the app access, made sure power saving was not triggering and testing the GPS using a GPS app. All good. After tie ride we checked both our phones, and surprisingly both of us had weird jagged artefacts in the path, with the path hopping from the bike path we were on to a nearby road, and sometimes across a river to the other side. 

I rode about 50km today to and from work. The ride in to work recorded perfectly, smoothly following the path. The ride back goes crazy on about four points of the path, with starring and jagged path ... it added about 2-3 km to the ride, and as a result reported my average speed as very high.

Both of us are Android users, I have a Pixel 7a and my friend has a recent Samsung. So the issue is not old or strange Android devices. 

It may be an issue with Android, with a recent update, or could be strava. We are both on the latest app v374.11. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Jane
Moderator Moderator

Hello @revstrava 

Thanks for your post and sorry to hear about those issues.